Cheating on Spiderman

by holditnow

I went to see The Amazing Spiderman the other day. Long story short, I didn’t really want to see it, but I had a friend in from out of town who doesn’t get to see many movies in the theater because the closet cinema to the town where he lives in northern Ontario is over 3 hours away, also it was the only movie playing in the time we had to see it and yadda yadda yadda.

I wasn’t too jazzed about seeing it for numerous reasons. First off I just saw this movie a couple of years ago. I understand the whole – Sony’s gonna lose its rights to Spiderman if it doesn’t make another movie thing. Nobody wants to flush 100’s of millions of dollars away; which it has already made after its opening weekend. Second of all, if you’ve seen one superhero movie you get the general idea. Thirdly I’m not a big fan of the origin story. Too much growing pains for my liking. Why can’t we get a fully developed character from the get go. We didn’t care how Indiana Jones got there in Raiders of the Lost Ark or how Tony Soprano got to where he was at the beginning of the Sopranos. It’s not that I don’t want dynamic characters that grow throughout a story, but how many ‘I can’t believe I’m doing this’ scenes do audiences have in them? Lastly, but the most significant reason I didn’t want to see The Amazing Spiderman was it felt like I was betraying  the original Spiderman with the new Spiderman.

I am a big advocate of supporting artists that you like and I really enjoy the work of Sam Raimi. He helped write The Hudsucker Proxy with the Coen brothers, gave us Xena the Warrior Princess and made Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2. He has a wonderful approach to film making that is intelligent, humorous and a little over the top. So the prospect of turning my back on him with another director felt a little dirty. I loved his early work but I merely liked Spiderman. Spiderman 2 is by far the best of all the Spiderman movies but (and it pains me to say it) The Amazing Spiderman would be a close second.

The Amazing Spiderman has got some great things going for it. In my opinion, the three things that make this worth seeing are: the cast does a great job – you can’t beat Emma Stone, Marc Webb (perfect name for this) does a great job of recreating Spiderman‘s contortionist poses of the comic book and finally hands down the best Stan Lee cameo of any Marvel movie.

I reluctantly went and I reluctantly liked. Please Sam don’t hate me, we’ll always have that cabin in the woods.

3.5/5

