Tycho live in Toronto

by holditnow

So  I’d have to say eye contact is pretty important. I believe it is instrumental in establishing any kind of relationship with anyone you meet. It indicates you are present and in the moment. But then again, who needs eye contact when we have phones? Seriously, nothing in the world is more compelling than that glowing screen in the palm of your hand. The entire world is only a foot and a half away at any given moment. Sad thing is most people don’t explore the entire world, they just revisit the same corner of it again and again. But what am I saying? That corner is awesome, there’s: videos of cats dressed as sharks riding on electronic vacuums, pictures of my friend’s vacations and selfies on Instagram, more of the same music I like -more than I’ll ever have enough time to listen to in a million lifetimes, texts, texts and more word-alerts about who’s where and the really important things they are doing, constant updates about that missing airplane -(what’s that all about anyway?), important notices about what celebrities got busted for being themselves and the list just goes on.

Oh, I really like this song, I’ll nod my head in time to the beat. I look up to see that there’s a live band on stage. Oh yeah I’m at a Tycho concert. I notice a bunch of people around me are taking photos with their phones, I’ll check those out later, but right now my thumb is swiping to the beat; I’m so addicted to this game.

random photo of concert found on the interwebs

random photo of the concert found on the interwebs

It sounds like they have been playing the same song all night. Good thing I really like this song. This music is making me want to dance. I look around and notice that everyone is just nodding their heads. There’s a couple of really old people at the back who are gyrating around. It’s cute. I stand and stare at the band for a while.They’re all looking down at their instruments and not making eye contact either. No one ‘s really looking at each other, but the music’s so good it doesn’t really matter. Tycho’s new album is called Awake, which is ironic because my eyes are getting tired from staring at the screen all day and because everyone here really hasn’t moved all night.

homepage_large.5a4ec3f9Tycho just thanked us for being such a great crowd. My phone and I had such a good time. Being at live music events, really makes all the difference in the world.

signed: Generation Phone

category – Millennial Fiction

 

